Can I Drive a Golf Cart Through Braselton?
Golf carts might not be able to drive 65 miles an hour, but that doesn’t mean you won’t see blue lights if you drive one off the course in Georgia. Under Georgia law, a golf cart is considered a motor vehicle. This means that you can get a DUI if the clubhouse proves too spirited. You must also have a valid driver’s license to operate one.
But before we get to those details, what is considered a golf cart? Generally, Georgia law defines a golf cart as any motorized vehicle designed to convey one or more persons and equipment to play the game of golf with an average speed of less than 15 miles per hour (OCGA § 40-1-1(17.3)). As the definition suggests, golf carts are considered motor vehicles.
Specific Provisions for Golf Carts
According to Georgia law, golf carts must be equipped with the following features before you can legally hit the road:
(1) A braking system sufficient for the weight and passenger capacity of the vehicle, including a parking brake;
(2) A reverse warning device functional at all times when the directional control is in the reverse position;
(3) A main power switch. When the switch is in the ‘off’ position, or the key or other device that activates the switch is removed, the motive power circuit shall be inoperative. If the switch uses a key, it shall be removable only in the ‘off’ position;
(4) Head lamps;
(5) Reflex reflectors;
(6) Tail lamps;
(7) A horn;
(8) A rearview mirror;
(9) Safety warning labels; and
(10) Hip restraints and hand holds or a combination thereof.
But, before you rush out to gear your golf cart up for a road trip, there is an important caveat to remember. Under Georgia law, a local ordinance must be adopted to permit drivers to use golf carts and other personal transportation devices on the roadways.
Absent the local ordinance, golf carts are not legal on local streets. The City of Braselton adopted a golf cart ordinance in 2012 and permits licensed drivers to operate golf carts on local streets and pathways.
Who Can Drive the Cart?
This brings us to the question of: Who may legally drive a golf cart on those local roads? Simply put, the rules are much more like the rules for driving a car than you might have guessed. By both local and state law, a person must be 16 years of age and have a valid motor vehicle license to operate a golf cart.
In Braselton, people who are at least 15 and who have an instructional permit are limited to one passenger, who must also be at least 15 years of age, unless the other passengers are immediate family members. A 15-year-old without an instructional permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 18.
Those persons who are 12 years of age but not yet 15 years of age may drive a golf cart on recreation paths or streets if they are accompanied in the front seat by a parent, grandparent or legal guardian. No person under the age of 12 is permitted to drive a golf cart on the recreational paths or roadways under any circumstances.
Obey the Rules of the Road
Golf carts should only be used during daylight hours unless equipped with functional headlights and taillights. And, even if you do replace the engine, you really can’t go 65. Golf carts are not permitted to operate on any street if the posted speed limit exceeds 35 miles per hour. So, just remember to obey the law in your golf cart and, in the immortal words of Dean Martin, “If you drink, don’t drive. Don’t even putt.”
If you are arrested and charged with a DUI or otherwise improperly operating a golf cart in Braselton or the surrounding area, call the criminal defense attorneys at Andersen, Tate & Carr today at (770)-822-0900 or contact us online for a free consultation
- Trinity Hundredmark Named Moxie Awards Finalist
- Pain and Suffering: What is It and What to Know?
- Parental Kidnapping Laws In Georgia: Acting In The Best Interests Of The Child
- ATC Attorney Trinity Hundredmark Nominated For The Moxie Award
- Recreational and Medical Marijuana’s Effect On Georgians
- Suing the Bar or Restaurant that Served Alcohol to the Drunk Driver
- How To Resolve A Bench Warrant
- When are Parents Responsible for the Harmful Acts of their Children?
- When Can Punitive Damages Be Awarded in Georgia?
- Understanding Trespassing Charges In Georgia
- November 2018
- October 2018
- September 2018
- August 2018
- July 2018
- June 2018
- May 2018
- April 2018
- March 2018
- February 2018
- January 2018
- December 2017
- November 2017
- October 2017
- September 2017
- August 2017
- June 2017
- May 2017
- April 2017
- March 2017
- February 2017
- December 2016
- November 2016
- October 2016
- September 2016
- August 2016
- July 2016
- June 2016
- May 2016
- April 2016
- March 2016
- February 2016
- January 2016
- December 2015
- November 2015
- October 2015
- April 2015
- October 2014
- September 2014
- July 2014
- March 2014