There are few charges in Atlanta that can be as harmful to your reputation as an accusation of cruelty against children. These charges are often popularized to the general public by various media outlets.
It's important that you contact a team of experienced Atlanta criminal defense attorneys as soon as you are accused of this crime if you want to protect your reputation in your community.
Severity of Child Cruelty Charges in Atlanta
In Georgia, the crime of cruelty to children is broken down into three degrees of severity. Each of these degrees carries with it different levels of legal punishments. Of course, if you get charged with any level of child cruelty, your reputation in your community will be tarnished and you will not be able to have the same quality of life that you once enjoyed.
Make sure that you are properly represented during your trial to avoid this lasting negative impact.
1st Degree Cruelty to Atlanta Children Charges
According to Georgia Code § 16-5-70, there are two ways to be charged with 1st degree cruelty to children. If a parent, guardian or any other person supervising the welfare of a child under the age of 18 willfully deprives that child of the necessary sustenance the child needs for survival, it will be considered to be a 1st degree offense.
If you are charged with 1st degree cruelty to children in Atlanta, it will be considered a felony crime. You will be sentenced to at least five years in prison, and could serve a maximum sentence of 20 years.
2nd Degree Cruelty to Atlanta Children Charges
If any person--- through their criminal negligence--- causes a child under the age of 18 to experience excessive or cruel mental or physical pain, this will be considered a 2nd degree cruelty to children offense.
If you are charged with 2nd degree cruelty to children in Atlanta, it will be considered a felony crime. You will be sentenced to at least one year in prison, and could serve a maximum sentence of 10 years.
3rd Degree Cruelty to Atlanta Children Charges
A 3rd degree cruelty to children offense occurs when an individual purposefully allows a child to witness or hear an aggressive felony, battery or any other type of family violence. If you are charged with 3rd degree cruelty to children in Atlanta, it will be considered a misdemeanor after the first and second offense.
If you commit this same act a third time, it will be considered a felony. You will be issued a minimum fine of $1,000 and a maximum fine of $5,000. You will also face at least one year in prison and could serve up to 3 years behind bars.
Contact Our Team of Experienced Atlanta Child Cruelty Attorneys Today
If you are being charged with or investigated for cruelty to children in Atlanta, you should not take these charges lightly. Contact the knowledgeable team of criminal defense lawyers at Andersen, Tate & Carr for a free, confidential consultation. We will make sure you are fairly treated during your trial, and we will work tirelessly to ensure your rights are represented properly during your legal proceedings.
Pat McDonough and Trinity Hundredmark are experienced child cruelty attorneys who have seen success in cases involving child molestation, sexual battery, child pornography, shaken baby syndrome and other difficult charges. With years of experience in these types of cases, our team will work tirelessly to protect your liberty, your reputation and your rights.
- Our News, 09.29.2018